

## SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

# NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

### THURSDAY, JULY 3, 1884.

Published by Authority.

#### WELLINGTON, FRIDAY, JULY 4, 1884.

Temuka Town District, County of Geraldine. Amending Boundary of

WM. F. DRUMMOND JERVOIS, Governor.

#### A PROCLAMATION.

A PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS by Proclamation dated the twenty-ninth day of April, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-four, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of the ninth day of May, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-four, the Town District of Temuka was constituted a town district under "The Town Districts Act, 1881:"

And whereas it appears that the boundary of the said district, as set forth in the Schedule to the said Proclamation, is incorrectly described, and it is expedient to amend the same:

Now, therefore, I, William Francis Drummond Jervois, the Governor of the Colony of New Zealand, in exercise of the power and authority vested in me by the said "Town Districts Act, 1881," do hereby proclaim and declare that the description and boundaries of the said Town District of Temuka shall be henceforth deemed to be those described in the Schedule hereto, in lieu of those set forth in the said recited Proclamation respectively.

#### SCHEDULE.

SCHEDULE.

All that piece of land in the Provincial District of Canterbury, being the Township of Wallingford. Bounded towards the North by Rural Section No. 3151, Arowhenua Survey District; towards the South-east generally by the Railway Reserve; towards the South by the southern side of Pilbrow Street, and that line produced across the Main South Road; towards the West by Rural Section No. 3133; again towards the South by said Section No. 3699; again towards the South by said Section No. 3699; again towards the South by said Section No. 3699; again towards the South by said Section No. 3132 and Reserve No. 820; and again towards the West by the Temuka River-bed: as the same is delineated on the plans in the Survey Office, Christchurch.

Given under the hand of His Excellency Sir William Francis Drummond Jervois, Lieutenant-General

Francis Drummond Jervois, Lieutenant-General in Her Majesty's Army, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Companion of the Most Honour-able Order of the Bath, Governor and Commanderin-Chief in and over Her Majesty's Colony of New Zealand and its Dependencies, and Vice-Admiral of the same; and issued under the Seal of the said Colony, at the Government House, at Wellington, this fourth day of July, in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eighty-

R. OLIVER.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!

Special Order made by Ashburton County Council.— Wakanui Protective Works District.

Colonial Secretary's Office,
Wellington, 3rd July, 1884.

THE following special order, made by the Ashburton
County Council, is published in accordance with
"The Counties Act 1876 Amendment Act, 1882."

R. OLIVER, (in the absence of the Colonial Secretary.)

Ashburton County Council.—Wakanui Protective Works District.

RESOLVED, That, inasmuch as it appears to this Council that the river works proposed to be constructed on the banks of and in connection with the River Ashburton are for the special benefit of that portion of the County of Ashburton which is comprised within the boundaries hereinafter mentioned, this Council do make a special order defining such portion of the said county, and such special order to be as follows, that is to say. follows, that is to say,

Special Order.

Special Order.

In pursuance of the powers vested in it in that behalf by "The Counties Act, 1876," "The Roads and Bridges Construction Act, 1882," and the Acts amending the said Acts, the County Council of Ashburton do hereby order and declare that the portion of the County of Ashburton which is comprised within the following boundaries shall be deemed to be the portion of the county for the special benefit of which the said works are to be constructed; and the poll and special rate required by the said "Roads and Bridges Construction Act, 1882," to be respectively taken and levied shall only be taken and levied of and on the ratepayers of such particular portion: Bounded on the North-west by road-line forming north-west boundary of Rural Section No. 4923,

with continuation thereof to south side of Ashburton Riverbed; on the West by south side of Ashburton Riverbed; on the South-east by South Pacific Ocean; on the East by road-line forming western boundary of Rural Section No. 27955 to south-west corner of Rural Section No. 21585; thence in a straight line to bend of road at north-west corner of Rural Section No. 14857; thence along road forming eastern and northern boundary of Rural Section No. 774; thence along road-line to the starting point: as shown in plan in County Council Office.

The common seal of the Chairman Councillors, and in

Council Office.

The common seal of the Chairman, Councillors, and inhabitants of the County of Ashburton was hereunto affixed by the authority of the County Council of the said county on the twenty-fourth day of June, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-four, by William Campbell Walker, Chairman of the said Council, in the presence of F. Mainwaring, Clerk of the Ashburton County Council, Ashburton

W. C. WALKER,

Charman.

I hereby certify that the above special order defining the Wakanui Protective Works District was duly made by the County Council of the County of Ashburton, at an ordinary meeting of the said Council, held at its offices, in the Town of Ashburton, on the 17th day of June, 1884.

Given under my hand this 24th day of June, 1884.

F. MAINWARING, Clerk to the County Council of the County of Ashburton.

Members of Road Boards elected.

Colonial Secretary's Office,
Wellington, 3rd July, 1884.

THE following Road Board elections are published in accordance with "The Road Boards Act, 1882."
R. OLIVER,

"In the change of the Colonial Secretary." (in the absence of the Colonial Secretary.)

Te Puna Road District, County of Tauranga:

John Alexander Murray Davidson. William Gore Armstrong.

Wallingford Road District, County of Waipawa John Davies Ormond. John Inglis Nicol Mackie.

Kohi Road District, County of Patea:

John Ion.
John McLean.
John Johnstone.
Thomas Harris.
Philip Bremer.

Masterton Road District, County of Wairarapa East: Subdivision No. 5— Edwin Meredith, jun.

Pokororo Road District, County of Waimea: David Flitt. John Grooby. Thomas Heath. George Henry Slatter.

Pigeon Bay Road District, County of Akaroa: Thomas Orr Hay. Charles Philips Kay. James Lyall. James Goodwin. William Paton, jun.

Port Levy Road District, County of Akaroa:
Richard John Philip Fleming.
George Spencer Fleming.
Henry Dont Gardner.
George Feild.
Charles Pitt Cholmondley.

By Authority: GEORGE DIDSBURY, Govt. Printer, Wellington